On Life Experiences

It has been four months since my last post on here and seven months since my last actual serious post. Loads of things have happened since my two posts. I’d like to start by saying that 2015 has been a very interesting year for me and I still can’t believe it is almost over! We are already in August!!! Anyway,this year began for me with quite the excitement. I got a job that was relocating me to Dubai and everything else seemed to be going on as planned. As I was prepping to leave for Dubai, I received a message from my job that, I was going to be working at the New York City office for a few months on a project/contract we had with the United Nations. Initially I was bummed because I was looking forward to Dubai but then I figured it was a few months so it didn’t really matter and since I was being provided with housing and working with the UN it was all good. So I moved to  NYC to start work.

Working in New York City was more fascinating than I expected. I have worked in New York City before but it was in the capacity of an intern so I wasn’t really exposed to the real hustle and bustle of the city. Work was pretty exciting as I got to meet and work with some of the richest people in the world. While everything appeared to be going well, I was having some issues with some of my team members that was making work more stressful than it needed to be. Furthermore, the Dubai office was demanding that I arrive as I was hired to work for the office there. The NYC office didn’t want to let me go for some reason and they were not paying attention to the fact that my team was making work more difficult. It got so bad that I spoke to the hire ups and told them that if they don’t assign me to a new team, I was going to quit.

After several back and forth meetings, I decided to quit because they kept on pushing my Dubai transfer and they did absolutely nothing about my team who were constantly making me look bad. My senior bosses was were sad to see me go but I had already made up my mind. I was even offered a job as a freelance consultant by bosses and the offer still stands to this day

A few weeks after I left, I got a job with a startup nonprofit in NYC. While my current job has more responsibilities and a team that is great, I feel as though I am not being fulfilled and I took the job because I didn’t want to be unemployed in NYC. Also my new boss is a micromanager and it makes me very uncomfortable as I’m used to freedom and flexibility. Part of me misses the excitement from my old job and meeting famous people but then I remember how miserable I was with my old team.

At this point, I’m still figuring what I want professionally as I dont think I am where I’m supposed to be but I reckon that its one of those life experiences that can lead to something exciting in the future

Leave a Reply

